DMV Point Reduction
DMV Points On Your Driver’s License
What does it mean to get a DMV point on your driver record? There is a point system in California concerning driver’s licenses. If you get too many points on your license, the DMV will seek to suspend your driver’s license for 6 months for being a negligent operator. The DMV defines a negligent operator as a driver with too many points.
So how do you know if you are listed as a negligent operator? If you any one of these 3, there is a possibility of being deemed a negligent operator by the DMV:
- Four (4) points in one year,
- Six (6) points in one year, or
- Eight (8) points in one year
A moving violation as a result of getting a traffic ticket will get you a point on your record.
- Running a red light
- Making an unsafe lane change
- Having an at-fault accident.
The California DMV will put one point on your record if they find out about an out of state traffic ticket you got.
- Reckless driving
- Driving while suspended or revoked
- Driving over 100 mph
A moving violation is committed by a driver when the law is violated while the automobile is in motion.
A ticket issued for parking illegally, fix-it tickets for broken lights, no front license plate, or violations related to insurance or registration will not result in points on your license. Similarly, a cell phone ticket does not subject your license to points.
Protecting Your DMV Record
All traffic convictions and accidents are tracked by the DMV. You can get 1 – 2 points for a traffic ticket, but it depends on the kind of traffic ticket you are issued. Getting into an accident can subject you to 1 point, but only if you are responsible for the accident.
How Long Will the Point Stay on My DMV Driver Record?
The more severe the traffic violation was, the longer the point will stay on your DMV record. The majority of points (speeding, failure to stop, illegal u-turn) and/or accidents remain on your driver record for 3 years. If the offense is more serious, like a DUI or hit-and-run, the point will remain for 10 years.
Keep the Points Off Your Record
We may be able to save your license by fighting to keep the points off your driving record. Call us today to speak to a California Traffic Attorney and get a free consultation regarding your legal matter – (855) 349-2849.